SaaS value framework

Value - Benefit - Feature

Welcome to the Category Surfers where we break down go-to-market strategies so you can build the best GTM engine for your SaaS.

16 hours airplane trips really get to you…

Just got back from Wynter’s event in Austin, TX. And it was fun to meet some of the folks that read my emails (surprisingly).

I’m about to share one key concept that made this whole trip SO worth it.

There is this big idea that positioning is what makes or breaks your GTM engine. But the thing is that no one really knows how to use that superpower to get prospects to buy.

Introducing VBF

Value - Benefit - Feature

  • Value (why should they care?)

  • Benefit (what they will be able to do, feel?)

  • Feature (how do we deliver?)

Most SaaS companies get this wrong. They start with a feature, then they describe the benefit and almost always they forget about value.

shareholders value meme

Enjoying the post so far?

Example #1

Here is one from a dashboard analytics SaaS homepage.

Example #2

This framework can also be used in content, emails, or any other form of communication.

Here is one example from the MKT1 Capital newsletter.

 

I’m on a hunt

To find the best GTM strategies and tactics for B2B SaaS.

If I were into tattoos, I’d 100% get a B2B SaaS one.

The thing is I’m not so what’s left for me is to hunt the best data on SaaS GTM and share it using this newsletter.

What I realized drinking my 11th can of sparking water in the Texas heat is that what worked for other people won’t work for me.

You can’t just copy someone’s GTM strategy, but you can use get inspired.

So watch out for my next emails. Working on something BIG…